Year 11: School sixth form and college open days in Kent and Medway

by My Kent Family reporter

If you have a Year 11 pupil in your family, now's the time to be thinking about what they will be doing after their exams next spring.

Most teenagers have three main options... 

OPTION 1. Carry on in full-time education, for example at school or at college

OPTION 2. Become an apprentice or trainee and earn while you learn

OPTION 3. Gain an introduction to the workplace by volunteering or doing work experience

Year 11 pupils should now be making plans for next September

Year 11 pupils should now be making plans for next September

If Option 1 is for your child, it's time to get a move on. Students can apply to the sixth form at their current school or at a different school if they are offering the course they are interested in.

'If your child wants to leave school, Kent has excellent colleges offering of a range of academic and vocational courses'

Sixth forms vary a lot in what they offer and courses can range from vocational courses and BTEC/OCR to A level and the International Baccalaureate.

If your child wants to leave school, Kent has excellent colleges offering of a range of academic and vocational courses, including agriculture, plumbing, electrical installation, office skills, beauty therapy, catering and tourism.

The best way to find out more is to get along to an open day. Most schools and colleges in the county have opened days planned in the coming weeks.

Check out our list below to find the right one for your son or daughter.

Open days are a great way of finding the right course for your Year 11 student

Open days are a great way of finding the right course for your Year 11 student

 

KENT SCHOOL SIXTH FORM OPEN DAYS
* See website for details

Abbey School, Faversham: Wed, Nov 8 – 4.30pm to 7pm
Archbishop’s School, Canterbury: Wed, Nov 29
Astor College for the Arts, Dover: Thur, Nov 30 – 6pm to 8pm
Aylesford School - Sports College: Tues, Nov 14 – 5pm to 7pm
Barton Court Grammar School, Sittingbourne: Wed, Jan 1 – 6.45pm to 9pm
Bennett Memorial Diocesan School, Tunbridge Wells: Thur, Nov 9
Borden Grammar School, Sittingbourne: Tues, Nov 14 – 6pm to 8pm
Brockhill Park Performing Arts College, Hythe: Tues, Nov 7 – 6.30pm
Canterbury Academy: Wed, Nov 9
Chatham & Clarendon Grammar School: Thur, Nov 23 – 6pm at Chatham Street site
Community College Whitstable, The: Thur, Nov 23 – 6pm to 8pm
Cranbrook School: Wed, Nov 8 – 6pm to 8pm
Dane Court Grammar School, Broadstairs: Thur, Nov 30 – 6.30pm to 9pm
Dartford Grammar School (Boys): Thur, Nov 16 – 6pm
Dartford Grammar School for Girls: Thur, Nov 23 – 6.30pm to 8.30pm
Dartford Science & Technology College: Thur, Nov 2 – 6.45pm
Dover Christ Church Academy: Thur, Nov 16 – 4pm to 6pm
Dover Grammar School for Boys: Thur, Nov 23 – 6pm to 8pm
Dover Grammar School for Girls: Wed, Nov 22 – 6pm to 8.30pm
Duke of York’s Royal Military School, Dover: Thur, Nov 16 – 6pm to 8pm
Folkestone Academy: Wed, Nov 8 – 5pm to 7.30pm
Folkestone School for Girls: Thur, Nov 30 – 5.30pm to 8pm
Fulston Manor School, Sittingbourne: Thur, Nov 2 – 6pm to 9pm
Future Schools Trust Sixth Form (Cornwallis Academy and New Line Learning Academy, both Maidstone): Wed, Oct 18 – 5.30pm to 7.30pm
Goodwin Academy, Deal: Wed, Nov 22 – 5pm to 7pm
Gravesend Grammar School: Fri, Jan 12 – 7pm to 9pm
Hartsdown Academy, Margate: Thur, Nov 9 – 6pm to 8pm
Harvey Grammar School, Folkestone: Tues, Jan 23 – 7pm
Hayesbrook School, Tonbridge: Thur, Nov 9 – 7pm to 8.30pm
Herne Bay High School: Tues, Nov 21 – 5.30pm to 7.30pm
High Weald Academy, Cranbrook: Thur, Nov 9
Highsted Grammar School, Sittingbourne: Thur, Nov 9
Highworth Grammar School for Girls, Ashford: Thur, January 18 – 6pm to 8pm
Hillview School for Girls, Tonbridge: Thur, Nov 2 – 5.30pm 50 8.30pm
Holmesdale School, Snodland: Thur, Nov 23 – 6pm to 8pm
Homewood School & Sixth Form Centre, Tenterden: Wed, Nov 15 – 5pm to 8pm. Tues, March 20 – 9am to 12.30pm. Wed, March 21 – 9am to 12.30pm.
Hugh Christie Technology College, Tonbridge: Wed, Nov 29 – 5pm to 7pm
Invicta Grammar School, Maidstone: Mon, Nov 6
John Wallis Church of England Academy, Ashford: Tues, Nov 21 – 5pm
Judd School, Tonbridge: Thur, Oct 12 – 5pm to 7pm
King Ethelbert School, Birchington: Wed, Nov 8 – 6pm to 8pm
Knole Academy, Sevenoaks: Thur, Nov 23 – 5.30pm to 7.30pm
Leigh Technology Academy, Dartford: Wed, Nov 22 – 6pm to 8pm
Leigh UTC, Dartford: Wed, Nov 8 – 6pm to 8pm. Wed, March 14 – 6pm to 8pm.
Lenham School: Wed, Nov 15 – 7pm to 9pm
Longfield Academy: Mon, Nov 13 – 6pm to 8pm
Maidstone Grammar School: Thur, Nov 9 – 4.30pm to 7.30pm
Maidstone Grammar School for Girls: Thur, Nov 9 – 5.30pm to 8.30pm
Malling School, East Malling: Thur, Nov 9 – 6pm to 8pm
Maplesden Noakes School, Maidstone: Thur, Nov 16 – 7pm
Marsh Academy, New Romney: Thur, Nov 30 – 6pm
Mascalls Academy, Paddock Wood: Wed, Oct 11 – 6pm to 8pm
Mayfield Grammar School, Gravesend: Thur, Dec 7
Meopham School: Wed, Nov 22 – 5.30pm to 7.30pm
North School, Ashford: Thur, Nov 16 – 5pm to 8pm
Northfleet School for Girls: Tues, Nov 26 – 6pm to 9pm
Northfleet Technology College: *
Norton Knatchbull School, Ashford: Thur, Nov 9 – 6pm to 10pm
Oakwood Park Grammar School, Maidstone: Tues, Nov 7 – 6pm to 8pm
Oasis Academy Sheppey: Wed, Oct 18 – 5pm
Queen Elizabeth’s Grammar School, Faversham: Wed, Nov 8
Royal Harbour Academy, Ramsgate: Tues, Nov 21 – 6pm to 7pm
Sandwich Technology School: Wed, Nov 8 – 6pm to 8pm
Simon Langton Girls’ Grammar School, Canterbury: Thur, Jan 25 – 5.45pm to 8.40pm
Simon Langton Grammar School for Boys, Canterbury: Thur, Feb 1 – 6.45pm
Sir Roger Manwood’s School, Sandwich: Tues, Nov 21 – 6pm
Skinners’ Kent Academy, Tunbridge Wells: Thur, Nov 2 – 6pm to 8pm
Skinners’ School, Tunbridge Wells: *
St Anselm’s Catholic School, Canterbury: Thur, Nov 23 – 7pm to 9pm
St George’s C of E Foundation School, Broadstairs: Thur, Nov 2 – 6pm to 8pm
St George’s C of E School, Gravesend: Mon, Nov 27 – 6.30pm to 8pm
St Gregory’s Catholic School, Tunbridge Wells: Wed, Nov 22 – 7pm
St John’s Catholic Comprehensive School, Gravesend: Wed, Nov 15 – 7pm to 9pm
St Simon Stock Catholic School: Thur, Nov 2 – 5.30pm to 8pm
Swale Sixth Form: Thur, Nov 2 – 5pm to 7.30pm, at both Westlands & Sittingbourne Community College
Thamesview School, Gravesend: Thur, Nov 2 – 6pm to 7pm
Tonbridge Grammar School for Girls: Wed, Nov 1 – 5.30pm to 8.30pm
Towers School and Sixth Form Centre, Ashford: Thur, Nov 2 – 5pm to 7.30pm
Trinity School Sevenoaks: Tues, Oct 17
Tunbridge Wells Girls’ Grammar School: Wed, Oct 11 – 6pm
Tunbridge Wells Grammar School for Boys: Thur, Oct 19
Ursuline College, Westgate: Mon, Nov 6 – 5pm to 7pm
Valley Park School, Maidstone: Wed, Nov 8 – 7pm to 9pm
Weald of Kent Grammar School, Tonbridge: Wed, Oct 18 – 5.30pm to 8.30pm
WG6, Wilmington: Wed, Nov 15 – 5.30pm to 7.30pm at WGSB site
Wilmington Academy: Wed, Oct 11 – 5pm to 8pm
Wrotham School: Wed, Nov 8 – 5.30pm to 8pm
Wye School: Thur, Nov 2 – 6pm to 8pm

Parents can help plan the most appropriate open days to go along to

Parents can help plan the most appropriate open days to go along to

MEDWAY SCHOOL SIXTH FORM OPEN DAYS
Brompton Academy: *
Chatham Grammar School for Girls *
Fort Pitt Grammar Girls: Thur, Nov 30
Holcombe Grammar School: Tues, Nov 28
Howard School: Thur, Nov 16 – 6pm to 8pm
Hundred of Hoo Academy: Wed, Nov 15 – 6pm to 7.30pm
Partnership of Greenacre and Walderslade Sixth Form: Thur, Nov 16
Rainham Mark Grammar School: Tues, Nov 14 – 5.45pm to 8.15pm
Rainham School for Girls: Thur, Nov 10 – 6pm to 8pm
Robert Napier School: Thur, Nov 16 – 6pm to 8pm
Rochester Grammar School: Wed, Jan 17 – 6pm
Sir Joseph Williams: Thur, Jan 4
St John Fisher Catholic School: Wed, Nov 29 – 6pm to 8pm
Strood Academy: Wed, Nov 15 – 6pm to 8pm
Thomas Aveling School: Thur, Oct 19 – 6pm to 8pm
Victory Academy: Thur, Dec 7 – 5pm to 7pm
Walderslade Girls School: Thur, Nov 23 – 6pm to 8pm

KENT INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS OPEN DAYS
Ashford School: Wed, Nov 22 – 9.20am to 11.30am
Benenden School: *
Bethany School, Goudhurst: Fri, Nov 24,
Cobham Hall: Wed, Oct 18
Dover College: *
Kent College Canterbury: *
Kent College Pembury: Thur, Oct 12 – 7pm to 9pm
King’s School Canterbury: Sat, Oct 7 – 10.30am
Radnor House Sevenoaks: Sat, March 3
Sackville School, Tonbridge: Thur, Nov 2
Sevenoaks School: *
St Edmunds School, Canterbury: Thur, Nov 23 – 6.30pm
Sutton Valence School: Open Mornings on Sat, Oct 7 and Sat, Nov 11
Tonbridge School: *

MEDWAY INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS OPEN DAYS
King’s Rochester: Wed, Oct 11
Rochester Independent College: Thur, Nov 16 – 6pm to 9pm
Trinity School and College, Rochester: *

* See website for details

College is one alternative to staying on at school

College is one alternative to staying on at school

COLLEGE OPEN DAYS
Ashford College: Sat, Oct 14; Wed, Nov 29; Sat, Feb 3; Wed, March 14; Wed, May 16 – all 10am to 1pm. Sat, June 23 – 10am to 4pm.
Canterbury College: Sat, Nov 25 – 10am to 1pm at Broadstairs campus. Thur, Nov 30 – 4pm to 9pm at Canterbury campus. Tues, Jan 9 – 4pm to 7pm at Canterbury campus. Sat, Jan 20 – 10am to 1pm at Sheppey campus. Tues, Apr 24 – 4pm to 7pm at Sheppey campus. Thur, Apr 26 – 4pm to 7pm at Canterbury campus.
East Kent College: Sat, Nov 11 – 10am to 1pm at Broadstairs campus. Sat, Nov 18, – 10am to 1pm at Folkestone campus. Sat, Nov 25 – 10am to 1pm at Sheppey campus. Sat, Nov 25 – 10am to 1pm at Dover campus. Wed, Jan 10 – 4pm to 7pm at Dover campus. Sat, Jan 13 – 4pm to 7pm at Broadstairs campus. Wed, Apr 18 – 4pm to 7pm at Broadstairs campus. Thur, April 19 – 4pm to 7pm at Dover campus. Tues, Apr 24 – 4pm to 7pm at Folkestone campus. Sat, Apr 28 – 4pm to 7pm at Folkestone campus.
Hadlow College: Sat, May 19 – 10am to 3pm at Canterbury campus plus Sat, Oct 21: Sat, Nov 25; Sat, Feb 10; Sat, Mar 24 – all 10am to 1pm. Sat, June 9 – 10am to 3pm at Greenwich campus plus Sat, Oct 7; Sat, Nov 18; Sat, Jan 27 – all 10am to 1pm. Sat, June 16 – 10am to 4pm at Hadlow campus plus Sat, Nov 11: Sat, Jan 20; Sat, Apr 21 – all 10am to 1pm.
Mid Kent College: Thur, Nov 2 – 3.30pm to 7.30pm at Maidstone. Thur, Nov 9 – 3.30pm to 7.30pm at Medway. Sat, Nov 18 – 10am to 1pm at Maidstone. Sat, Nov 25 – 10am to 1pm at Medway. Thur, March 1 – 3.30pm to 7.30pm at Maidstone. Thur, March 8 – 3.30pm to 7.30pm at Medway.
North Kent College: Tues, Oct 17 – 3pm to 7.30pm; Tues, Feb 20 – 3.30pm to 6pm at Dartford campus. Thur, Oct 19 – 3pm to 7.30pm; Thur, Feb 22 – 3.30pm to 6pm at Gravesend campus
UCA, Rochester: Open days at all campuses on Wed, Oct 11; Sat, Nov 4; Wed, Nov 29; Wed, Feb 21.
West Kent College, Tonbridge: Sat, Oct 14; Wed, Nov 29; Sat, Feb 3; Wed, March 14; Wed, May 16. – all 10am to 1pm. Sat, June 23 – 10am to 4pm.

 

 

 

Share this story

Sorry, comments are not enabled for this article.

Register or log in via Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+ or your KentOnline account to post comments.

Post Comment

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.
Please click here for our house rules.

Don't have an account? Please Register first!

The KM Group does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.

 

Terms of Comments
We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules. If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here, email multimediadesk@thekmgroup.co.uk or call 01634 227989.